Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha takes oath as new Chief Information Commissioner

Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha took oath as the new Chief Information Commissioner (CIC). He was administered the oath by the President Ram Nath Kovind. The post was lying vacant since the retirement of Bimal Julka on August 26, 2020. Sinha will have a tenure of three years. Apart from this, three new Information Commissioners were also administered the oath of office, by the newly appointed CIC. With the new appointments, the total number of Information Commissioners including the Chief Information Commissioner has risen to 8 in the Central Information Commission.

Three new Information Commissioner includes:

  • Shri Heeralal Samariya, a former IAS officer, who served as Secretary in Ministry of Labour & Employment
  • Ms. Saroj Punhani, an IA&AS officer, who was holding the post of Deputy Comptroller & Auditor General (HR & Training)
  • Shri Uday Mahurkar, a veteran journalist, was functioning as Senior Deputy Editor with a leading media house.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.